Home   |   Contact   |   Help   |   Mobile
olympic weightlifting, weightlifting, snatch, clean, jerk
CATALYST ATHLETICS TRAINING CYCLE

Program Help | Exercise Demos | Programs


12-Week Complete Cycle
12 weeks

This is a 12-week cycle with 8 weeks of preparatory work focused primarily on leg strength, and 4 weeks of competition preparation with a Bulgarian-style structure. (This cycle is in 3 different Excel files listed in order)

Download Excel Spreadsheet (1)

Download Excel Spreadsheet (2)

Download Excel Spreadsheet (3)

Export Cycle as Word Doc




Monday March 26 2012
Comments (22)

  • Back Squat - 65% x 10 x 3
  • Block (or hang) snatch (mid-thigh) - 65% x 3 x 5
  • Halting Snatch Deadlift (hip) - 80% (of snatch) x 3 x 3
  • Overhead Squat - 65% x 3 x 5
Week 1 of 4 (1 of 12)

This will be a short 4-week cycle with a lot of work in the first 3 weeks and a lot of rest in the last week. The emphasis is on leg strength. It can be used as a standalone training block for leg strength primarily, but it will also be the first 4-week mesocycle in a 12-week macrocycle.
Tuesday March 27 2012
Comments (5)

  • Jerk behind the neck - 70% x 3 x 5
  • Push Press - 75% x 5 x 4
  • Jerk dip squat - 80% (of jerk) x 5 x 3
3 sets; no rest:
2 min jump rope
15 pull-ups
Wednesday March 28 2012
Comments (10)

  • Back Squat - 75% x 5 x 5
  • Block (or hang) Clean (mid-thigh) - 65% x 3 x 5
  • Halting Clean Deadlift - 80% (of clean) x 3 x 3
  • SLDL - 60% (of back squat) x 5 x 3
Thursday March 29 2012
Comments (5)

  • Power Snatch - 65% x 3 x 4
  • Power Clean - 65% x 3 x 4
  • Power Jerk - 65% x 3 x 4
  • Snatch High-Pull - 70% x 3 x 3
3 sets; no rest:
600 m row
15 DB push press
Friday March 30 2012
Comments (2)

Rest Day
Saturday March 31 2012
Comments (8)

  • Back Squat - 80% x 3 x 8
  • Snatch - 70% x 3 x 2, 75% x 2 x 3
  • Clean & Jerk - 70% x 3 x 2, 75% x 2 x 3
  • Snatch High-Pull - 70% (of snatch) x 3 x 3
Sunday April 1 2012
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Monday April 2 2012
Comments (1)

  • Back Squat - 70% x 10 x 3
  • Block (or hang) snatch (mid-thigh) - 65% x 3 x 2, 70% x 3 x 3
  • Halting Snatch Deadlift (hip) - 80% (of snatch) x 3, 85% x 3 x 2
  • Overhead Squat - 65% x 3 x 2, 70% x 3 x 3
Week 2 of 4 (2 of 12)
Tuesday April 3 2012
Comments (5)

  • Jerk behind the neck - 75% x 3 x 5
  • Push Press - 75% x 5 x 2, 80% x 5 x 2
  • Jerk Dip Squat - 85% (of jerk) x 5 x 3
4 sets; no rest:
10 pull-ups
15 KB swings

Wednesday April 4 2012
Comments (2)

  • Back Squat - 80% x 5 x 5
  • Block (or hang) Clean (mid-thigh) - 65% x 3 x 2, 70% x 3 x 3
  • Halting Clean Deadlift (upper thigh) - 80% (of clean) x 3, 85% x 3 x 2
  • SLDL - 65% (of back squat) x 5 x 3
Thursday April 5 2012
Comments (0)

  • Power Snatch - 65% x 3 x 2, 70% x 3 x 2
  • Power Clean - 65% x 3 x 2, 70% x 3 x 2
  • Power Jerk - 65% x 3 x 2, 70% x 3 x 2
  • Snatch High-Pull - 70% (of snatch) x 3 x 2, 75% x 3
4 sets; no rest:
10 1-arm KB push press/side
200 rope jumps (or 2 min max)

Friday April 6 2012
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Saturday April 7 2012
Comments (5)

  • Back Squat - 85% x 3 x 8
  • Snatch - 75% x 3 x 3, 80% x 2 x 2
  • Clean & Jerk - 75% x 3 x 2, 80% x 2 x 2
  • Snatch High-Pull - 70% (of snatch) x 3, 75% x 3 x 2
Sunday April 8 2012
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Monday April 9 2012
Comments (10)

  • Back Squat - 73% x 10 x 3 (up wt on last set if you can - no failed reps)
  • Block (or hang) snatch (mid-thigh) - 70% x 3 x 5 (up wt on last 2 sets if you feel good)
  • Halting Snatch Deadlift (hip) - 85% x 3 x 3
  • Overhead Squat - 70% x 3 x 5 (up wt on last 2 sets if you feel good)
Week 3 of 4 (3 of 12)
Tuesday April 10 2012
Comments (6)

  • Jerk behind the neck - 75% x 3 x 3, 80% x 3 x 2 (up wt on last set if you feel good)
  • Push Press - 75% x 5, 80% x 5 x 2, 85% x 5
  • Jerk Dip Squat - 85% (of jerk) x 5 x 3
For 5 min:
5 1-arm KB swing/arm
5 1-arm KB clean & push press/arm
5 1-arm KB snatch/arm
Wednesday April 11 2012
Comments (1)

  • Back Squat - 83% x 5 x 5 (up wt on last set if you feel good - no failed reps)
  • Block (or hang) clean (mid-thigh) - 70% x 3 x 5 (up wt on last 2 sets if you feel good)
  • Halting Clean Deadlift (upper thigh) - 85% x 3 x 3
  • SLDL - 65% (of back squat) x 5, 70% x 5 x 3
Thursday April 12 2012
Comments (3)

  • Power Snatch - 65% x 3, 70% x 3 x 2, 75% x 3
  • Power Clean - 65% x 3, 70% x 3 x 2, 75% x 3
  • Power Jerk - 65% x 3, 70% x 3 x 2, 75% x 3
  • Snatch High-Pull - 75% (of snatch) x 5 x 3
5 (2-4-6 rep) ladders (60 total reps):
Chin-up
Dips
Friday April 13 2012
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Saturday April 14 2012
Comments (11)

  • Snatch - 75% x 3, 80% x 3, 85% x 2, 80% x 2 x 2
  • Clean & Jerk - 75% x 3, 80% x 3, 85% x 2, 80% x 2 x 2
  • Back Squat - 88% x 3 x 8 (up wt on last set if you feel good)
  • Snatch High-Pull - 75% (of snatch) x 3 x 3
Sunday April 15 2012
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Monday April 16 2012
Comments (0)

  • Snatch - 60% x 2 x 5
  • Clean & Jerk - 60% x 1 x 5
  • Back squat - 50% x 2 x 3 (focus on acceleration up)
This will be a very light and easy week in preparation for max back squat testing on Saturday.

Week 4 of 4 (4 of 12)
Tuesday April 17 2012
Comments (6)

  • Power Snatch - 60% x 1 x 4, 70% x 1 x 3
  • Power Clean & Power Jerk - 60% x 1 x 4, 70% x 1 x 3
  • Squat jump - 3 x 3
3 sets; no rest:
10 DB row/arm
10 1-arm DB bench press/arm
Wednesday April 18 2012
Comments (1)

  • Snatch - 60% x 1 x 5
  • Clean & Jerk - 60% x 1 x 5
  • Back Squat - 40% x 2 x 3 (focus on acceleration up)
  • Squat jump - 3 x 3
Thursday April 19 2012
Comments (3)

  • Hang Power Snatch - 60% x 1 x 5
  • Hang Power Clean & Power Jerk - 60% x 1 x 5
  • Box Jump - 3 x 3
3 sets; no rest:
15 pull-ups
10 1-arm KB press/arm
Friday April 20 2012
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Saturday April 21 2012
Comments (30)

  • Back Squat - test max
  • Snatch - heavy single
  • Clean & Jerk - heavy single
Don't expect snatch and clean & jerk PRs today. Do what you can, and if you don't break 80%, throw in a few more singles between 70-80%.
Sunday April 22 2012
Comments (1)

Rest Day
Monday April 23 2012
Comments (7)

  • Back Squat - 65% x 10 x 3
  • Block Snatch (knee) - 70% x 3 x 5
  • Snatch Pull on 2" Riser - 90% (of snatch) x 3 x 4
  • Heaving Snatch Balance + Overhead Squat - 65% (of OHS) x 1 +2 x 4
This is really a continuation of the previous 4 weeks in a 12 week cycle, but can be a standalone 4-week training block as well.

Week 1 of 4 (5 of 12)
Tuesday April 24 2012
Comments (0)

  • Jerk - 70% x 3 x 5
  • Push Press - 75% x 5 x 2, 80% x 4 x 2
  • Snatch High-Pull - 70% x 5 x 2, 75% x 5 x 2
4 sets; no rest:
400 m row
10 1-arm KB clean + press/arm

Wednesday April 25 2012
Comments (0)

  • Back Squat - 75% x 5 x 5
  • Block Clean (knee) - 70% x 3 x 5
  • Clean Pull on 2" Riser - 90% (of clean) x 3 x 4
  • SLDL - 60% (of back squat) x 5 x 3
Thursday April 26 2012
Comments (0)

  • Power Snatch - 65% x 3 x 4
  • Power Clean + Power Jerk - 65% (of PC) x 3 x 4
  • Snatch High-Pull - 70% (of snatch) x 3 x 2, 75% x 3
5 sets; no rest:
8 pull-ups
8 ring push-ups

Friday April 27 2012
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Saturday April 28 2012
Comments (3)

  • Back Squat - 80% x 3 x 8
  • Snatch - 70% x 3 x 2, 75% x 2 x 3
  • Clean & Jerk - 70% x 3 x 2, 75% x 2 x 3
4 sets; no rest:
2 min jump rope
20 KB swings
Sunday April 29 2012
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Monday April 30 2012
Comments (0)

  • Back Squat - 70% x 10 x 3
  • Block (or hang) Snatch (knee) - 70% x 3 x 2, 75% x 3 x 3
  • Snatch Pull on 2" Riser - 90% (of snatch) x 3 x 2, 95% x 3 x 2
  • Heaving Snatch Balance + Overhead Squat - 65% (of OHS) x 1+2 x 2, 70% x 1+2 x 2
Week 2 of 4 (6 of 12)
Tuesday May 1 2012
Comments (2)

  • Jerk - 70% x 3 x 2, 75% x 3 x 3
  • Push Press - 80% x 4 x 3, 85% x 3
  • Snatch High-Pull - 75% (of snatch) x 5 x 4
5 rounds; no rest:
90 sec jump rope
12 KB snatch/arm

Wednesday May 2 2012
Comments (0)

  • Back Squat - 80% x 5 x 5
  • Block (or hang) Clean (knee) - 70% x 3 x 2, 75% x 3 x 3
  • Clean Pull on 2" Riser - 90% (of clean) x 3 x 2, 95% x 3 x 2
  • SLDL - 65% (of BS) x 5 x 3
Thursday May 3 2012
Comments (0)

  • Power Snatch - 65% x 3 x 2, 70% x 3 x 2
  • Power Clean + Power Jerk - 65% (of PC) x 65% x 3 x 2, 70% x 3 x 2
  • Snatch High-Pull - 75% x 3 x 3
4 sets; no rest:
15 DB chainsaw rows/arm
10 DB push press
Friday May 4 2012
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Saturday May 5 2012
Comments (0)

  • Back Squat - 85% x 3 x 8
  • Snatch - 75% x 3 x 3, 80% x 2 x 2
  • Clean & Jerk - 75% x 3 x 3, 80% x 2 x 2
3 sets; no rest:
400 m row - 30 sec easy/30 sec sprint
10 plate topside halfmoons / side

Sunday May 6 2012
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Monday May 7 2012
Comments (0)

  • Back Squat - 73% x 10 x 3
  • Block (or hang) Snatch (knee) - 70% x 3 x 2, 75% x 3, 80% x 2 x 2
  • Snatch Pull on Riser - 95% (of snatch) x 3 x 4
  • Heaving Snatch Balance + Overhead Squat - 70% (of OHS) x 1+2 x 2, 75% x 1+1 x 2
Week 3 of 4 (7 of 12)
Tuesday May 8 2012
Comments (0)

  • Jerk - 70% x 3 x 2, 75% x 3, 80% x 2 x 2
  • Push Press - 80% x 4, 85%x 3 x 3
  • Snatch High-Pull - 75% (of snatch) x 5 x 2, 80% x 5 x 2
40 sec on / 20 sec rest x 5 minutes:
15 KB swings
15 push-ups
Wednesday May 9 2012
Comments (0)

  • Back Squat - 83% x 5 x 5
  • Block (or hang) Clean (knee) - 70% x 3 x 2, 75% x 3, 80% x 2 x 2
  • Clean Pull on Riser - 95% (of clean) x 3 x 4
  • SLDL - 65% (of back squat) x 5, 70% x 5 x 2
Thursday May 10 2012
Comments (0)

  • Power Snatch - 65% x 3, 70% x 3 x 2, 75% x 2
  • Power Clean + Power Jerk - 65% (of PC) x 3, 70% x 3 x 2, 75% x 2
  • Snatch High-Pull - 75% (of snatch) x 3, 80% x 3 x 2
4 sets; no rest:
5 (1 pull-up + 1 hanging leg raise)
10 shoulder-to-shoulder sandbag push press

Friday May 11 2012
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Saturday May 12 2012
Comments (0)

  • Back Squat - 88% x 3 x 8
  • Snatch - 75% x 3, 80% x 3, 85% x 2, 80% x 2 x 2
  • Clean & Jerk - 75% x 3, 80% x 3, 85% x 2, 80% x 2 x 2
Sunday May 13 2012
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Monday May 14 2012
Comments (0)

  • Snatch - 50% x 3, 60% x 2 x 2, 65% x 2 x 2, 70% x 2
  • Power Clean - 60% x 2 x 2, 70% x 2 x 3
  • Jerk - 65% x 3 x 2, 70% x 3 x 2
  • Squat jump - 4 x 3
Squat jump: unloaded, controlled squat to bottom position, immediate transition, and maximal speed immediately from bottom of squat into vertical jump.

Week 4 of 4 (8 of 12)
Tuesday May 15 2012
Comments (0)

  • Mid-hang power snatch - 60% x 2 x 5
  • Pull-ups - 40 total
Wednesday May 16 2012
Comments (2)

  • Push Press - text max
  • High-Hang Snatch - 50% x 2 x 5
  • Power Clean & Jerk - 60% x 1 x 5
  • Squat Jump - 3 x 3
Thursday May 17 2012
Comments (2)

  • Power Snatch - 60% x 1 x 5
  • Power Clean & Power Jerk - 60% x 1 x 5
Friday May 18 2012
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Saturday May 19 2012
Comments (5)

  • Back Squat - test max
  • Snatch - heavy single
  • Clean & Jerk - heavy single
Don't expect PRs on the snatch and CJ today. If your heavy single is less thn 85%, get some additional singles in between 75-80% afterward.
Sunday May 20 2012
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Monday May 21 2012
Comments (1)

  • Snatch - 70% x 2, 75% x 2, 80% x 1 x 3
  • Clean & Jerk - 70% x 1, 75% x 1, 80% x 1 x 3
  • Clean Pull - 90% (of clean) x 3 x 3
  • Back Squat - 80% x 2 x 3
Week 1 of 4 (9 of 12)

This is the final 4-week  mesocycle of a 12-week macrocycle, but it can be used as a brief standalone cycle.
Tuesday May 22 2012
Comments (0)

  • Tall Snatch - 4 x 3
  • Mid-Hang Snatch - 65% x 2 x 5
  • Power Clean + Power Jerk - 70% (of PC) x 1 x 5
3 sets:
5 box jumps
20 KB swings
30 sec rest

Tall snatch - Stay light and focus on bringing the elbows as high as possible before turning the bar over, and keeping the bar and body as close as possible, landing with flat feet, and pushing up tight against the bar overhead. Using an empty barbell is fine.

Wednesday May 23 2012
Comments (0)

  • Snatch - 70% x 2 x 2, 75% x 2 x 2, 80% x 1 x 3
  • Clean & Jerk - 70% x 2 x 2, 75% x 2 x 2, 80% x 1 x 3
  • Snatch Pull - 90% (of snatch) x 3 x 3
  • Front Squat - 80% x 2 x 3
Thursday May 24 2012
Comments (0)

  • Tall Snatch - 4 x 3
  • Mid-Hang Snatch - 70% x 1 x 5
  • Snatch Balance - 70% (of snatch) x 2 x 5
3 sets:
5 box jumps
15 pull-ups
30 sec rest

Friday May 25 2012
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Saturday May 26 2012
Comments (3)

  • Snatch - heavy single; 70% of HS x 2 x 3
  • Clean & Jerk - heavy single; 70% of HS x 2 x 3
  • Snatch Pull - 90% (of snatch) x 3 x 3
  • Front Squat - heavy single
Sunday May 27 2012
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Monday May 28 2012
Comments (0)

  • Snatch - heavy single; 75% (of HS) x 1 x 5
  • Clean & Jerk - heavy single; 75% (of HS) x 1 x 5
  • Front Squat - heavy single; 80% x 2 x 2
Week 2 of 4 (10 of 12)
Tuesday May 29 2012
Comments (0)

  • Tall Snatch - 4 x 3
  • Mid-Hang Snatch - 70% x 1 x 10
  • Power Clean & Power Jerk - 70% x 1 x 10
3 sets; no rest:
400 m row
12 pull-ups
Wednesday May 30 2012
Comments (0)

  • Clean & Jerk - heavy single; 75% (of HS) x 1 x 5
  • Snatch - heavy single; 75% (of HS) x 1 x 5
  • Pause Back Squat - 70% x 3 x 3
Thursday May 31 2012
Comments (0)

  • Tall Snatch - 4 x 3
  • Mid-Hang Snatch - 70% x 1 x 10
  • Power Clean & Power Jerk - 70% x 1 x 10
5 sets; no rest:
10 KB swings
10 push-ups
Friday June 1 2012
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Saturday June 2 2012
Comments (0)

  • Snatch - heavy single; 75% (of HS) x 1 x 5
  • Clean & Jerk - heavy single; 75% (of HS) x 1 x 5
  • Front Squat - heavy single; 85% x 2 x 2
Sunday June 3 2012
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Monday June 4 2012
Comments (1)

  • Snatch - heavy single; 80% (of HS) x 1 x 3
  • Clean & Jerk - heavy single; 80% (of HS) x 1 x 3
  • Front Squat - heavy single; 85% (of HS) x 2 x 2
Week 3 of 4 (11 of 12)
Tuesday June 5 2012
Comments (3)

  • Tall Snatch - 4 x 3
  • Mid-Hang Snatch - 70% x 1 x 10
  • Power Clean & Power Jerk - 75% x 1 x 10
3 sets; no rest:
5 (2 push-ups + 4 mountain climbers)
15 pull-ups

Wednesday June 6 2012
Comments (4)

  • Clean & Jerk - heavy single; 80% x 1 x 3
  • Snatch - heavy single; 80% x 1 x 3
  • Pause Back Squat - 75% x 3 x 3
Thursday June 7 2012
Comments (1)

  • Tall Snatch - 4 x 3
  • Mid-Hang Snatch - 70% x 1 x 10
  • Power Clean & Power Jerk - 75% x 1 x 10
5 sets; no rest:
5 KB clean & push press / arm
5 1-arm KB swings / arm

Friday June 8 2012
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Saturday June 9 2012
Comments (3)

  • Snatch - heavy single; 80% (of HS) x 1 x 3
  • Clean & Jerk - heavy single; 80% (of HS) x 1 x 3
  • Front Squat - heavy single; 85% x 2 x 2
Sunday June 10 2012
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Monday June 11 2012
Comments (1)

  • Snatch - heavy singe; 85% of HS x 1 x 3
  • Clean & Jerk - heavy single; 85% of HS x 1 x 3
  • Front Squat - HS; 90% of HS x 1 x 2
Week 4 of 4 (12 of 12)
Tuesday June 12 2012
Comments (3)

  • Mid-Hang Snatch - 70% x 1 x 8
  • Power Clean & Power Jerk - 75% x 1 x 8
At 75% effort:
1000 m row
Wednesday June 13 2012
Comments (1)

  • Snatch - heavy single; 85% of HS x 1 x 2
  • Clean & Jerk - heavy single; 85% of HS x 1 x 2
  • Back Squat - 80% x 1 x 3
Thursday June 14 2012
Comments (5)

  • Mid-Hang Snatch - 70% x 1 x 6
  • Power Clean & Power Jerk - 75% x 1 x 6
Friday June 15 2012
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Saturday June 16 2012
Comments (1)

  • Snatch - max
  • Clean & Jerk - max
  • Front squat - max
Sunday June 17 2012
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Get Our Newsletter

Sign up for our free newsletter to get training tips and stay up to date on Catalyst Athletics AND get a free issue of the Performance Menu journal.


Search Workouts

Workouts Menu

Training Home
Program Help
Tomorrow's Workout
Exercise Demos
Training Cycles
Text Only
Starter Program
Training Cycles

View Training by Date

Get Our Newsletter



Funny Crossfit Shirts
The largest variety of funny crossfit shirts for guys and girls.

Advertise With Us
Subscribe to the Performance Menu Magazine
Subscribe to our Newsletter

Get training tips and Catalyst news AND get a free issue of the Performance Menu journal.

ASK GREG

Submit your question to be answered by Greg Everett in the Performance Menu or on the website

Submit Your Question
WEIGHTLIFTING TEAM

Catalyst Athletics is a USA Weightlifting team of competitive Olympic-style weightlifters with multiple national team medals.

Read More
Weightlifting Programming: A Winning Coach's guide by Bob Takano
Catalyst Athletics
Contact Us
About
Help
Newsletter
Products & Services
Gym
Store
Seminars
Weightlifting Team
Performance Menu
Magazine Home
Subscriber Login
Issues
Articles
Workouts
About the Program
Workout Archives
Exercise Demos
Text Only
Instructional Content
Exercise Demos
Video Gallery
Free Articles
Free Recipes
Resources
Recommended Books & DVDs
Olympic Weightlifting Guide
Discussion Forum
Weight Conversion Calculator