Home   |   Contact   |   Help   |   Mobile
olympic weightlifting, weightlifting, snatch, clean, jerk
CATALYST ATHLETICS TRAINING CYCLE

Program Help | Exercise Demos | Programs


10 x 3 Squat Cycle
9 weeks

This program is built around a 10 x 3 squat cycle and its focus is building leg strength.

Export Cycle as Word Doc




Monday October 4 2010
Comments (16)

  • Snatch + hang power snatch + hang snatch - 50-60% x 5 sets
  • Clean + hang power clean + jerk - 50-60% x 5 sets
  • Sit-ups - 3 x 15

Week 1 of 9

This will be a 9-week cycle. This first week will be very easy to get everyone recovered for the following 8 weeks.
Tuesday October 5 2010
Comments (8)

  • Muscle snatch - 3 x 3 med wt
  • Power snatch - 60% x 1 x 5
  • Power clean & power jerk - 60% x 1 x 5
3 sets; no rest:
10 KB push press
5 box jumps - mid-thigh+
Wednesday October 6 2010
Comments (9)

  • Front squat - 70% x 3 x 4
  • Clean pull - 80% (of clean) x 3
  • Clean deadlift - 90% (of clean) x 3
  • Standing plate twist - 3 x 10/side
Thursday October 7 2010
Comments (9)

  • Muscle snatch - med-heavy single
  • Overhead squat - 3 x 2 med weight
  • Stiff-legged deadlift - 2 x 5 med weight
3 sets; no rest:
15 Chinese DB rows/arm
1 min max jump rope reps
Friday October 8 2010
Comments (2)

Rest
Saturday October 9 2010
Comments (6)

  • Snatch - (65% x 1, 70% x 1, 75% x 1) x 3
  • Clean & jerk - (65% x 1, 70% x 1, 75% x 1) x 3
  • Back squat - 80% x 1 x 3
Sunday October 10 2010
Comments (0)

Rest
Monday October 11 2010
Comments (15)

  • Back squat - 75% x 3 x 10
  • Snatch pull - 90% (of snatch) x 3 x 2
  • Snatch deadlift - 100% (of snatch) x 3
  • Snatch push press - 3 x 5
Week 2 of 9
Tuesday October 12 2010
Comments (8)

  • Muscle snatch - work quickly up to a heavy single
  • Snatch (60% x 1, 65% x 1, 70% x 1) x 3
  • Jerk - max for day
Max sets in 5 minutes:
5 sandbag cross-body shoulder/side
10 sandbag bent row
10 sandbag shoulder-to-shoulder push press
Wednesday October 13 2010
Comments (13)

Front squat - 75% x 3 x 10
Clean pull - 90% (of clean) x 3 x 2
Clean deadlift - 100% (of clean) x 3
Thursday October 14 2010
Comments (10)

  • Power clean - (60%x1, 65%x1, 70%x1) x 3
  • Overhead squat - max for the day
4 sets; no rest:
15 DB muscle snatch
15 pull-ups
Friday October 15 2010
Comments (2)

Rest
Saturday October 16 2010
Comments (3)

  • Snatch - max
  • Clean & jerk - max
  • Back squat - max (no misses)
  • Stiff-legged deadlift - 3 x 5
Sunday October 17 2010
Comments (0)

Rest
Monday October 18 2010
Comments (10)

  • Back squat - 78% x 3 x 10
  • Snatch pull - 93% (of snatch) x 3 x 2
  • Snatch deadlift - 103% x 3 x 1
Week 3 of 9
Tuesday October 19 2010
Comments (10)

  • Power snatch - (60% x 1, 65% x 1, 70% x 1) x 3
  • Jerk - heavy single
3 sets:
5 snatch push press - 70%
10 DB chainsaw rows
15 Hanging leg raises
1 min rest
Wednesday October 20 2010
Comments (7)

  • Front squat - 75% x 3 x 10
  • Clean pull - 93% (of clean) x 3 x 2
  • Clean deadlift - 103% (of clean) x 3 x 1
  • Sit-ups - 3 x max
Thursday October 21 2010
Comments (13)

  • Clean - (60% x 1, 65% x 1, 70% x 1) x 3
  • Snatch balance - heavy single
3 sets; no rest:
15 pull-ups
10 KB clean & push press/arm
Friday October 22 2010
Comments (0)

Rest
Saturday October 23 2010
Comments (6)

  • Snatch - 80-90% x 1
  • Clean & jerk - 80-90% x 1
  • Front squat - 80-90% x 1
  • Stiff-legged deadlift - 3 x 5
Aim to hit one single on these lifts between 80-90% depending on how you're feeling. Don't push it beyond what can be done technically well.
Sunday October 24 2010
Comments (3)

Rest
Monday October 25 2010
Comments (5)

  • Back squat - 81% x 3 x 10
  • Snatch pull - 96% (of snatch) x 3 x 2
  • Snatch deadlift - 106% x 3 x 1
Week 4 of 9
Tuesday October 26 2010
Comments (5)

  • Snatch - (65% x 1, 70% x 1, 75% x 1) x 3
  • Jerk - heavy single
3 sets:
5 snatch push press - 73%; no rest
15 kipping pull-ups
1 min rest
Wednesday October 27 2010
Comments (9)

  • Front squat - 78% x 3 x 10
  • Clean pull - 96% (of clean) x 3 x 2
  • Clean deadlift - 100% (of clean) x 3 x 1
Thursday October 28 2010
Comments (7)

  • Power clean - (65% x 1, 70% x 1, 75% x 1) x 3
  • Overhead squat - heavy single
4 sets; no rest:
12 DB hang high-pull
12 push-ups
Friday October 29 2010
Comments (1)

Rest
Saturday October 30 2010
Comments (3)

  • Snatch - heavy single
  • Clean & jerk - heavy single
  • Back squat - heavy single
  • Stiff-legged deadlift - 3 x 5
Sunday October 31 2010
Comments (2)

Rest
Monday November 1 2010
Comments (9)

  • Back squat - 84% x 3 x 10
  • Snatch pull - 98% x 3 x 2
  • Snatch deadlift - 108% x 3
Week 5 of 9
Tuesday November 2 2010
Comments (6)

  • Power snatch - (65% x 1, 70%x 1, 75% x 1) x 3
  • Jerk - heavy single
3 sets; no rest:
20 m farmer's walk
5 Snatch push press - 76%
Wednesday November 3 2010
Comments (7)

  • Front squat - 81% x 3 x 10
  • Clean pull - 98% x 3 x 2
  • Clean deadlift - 108% x 3
Thursday November 4 2010
Comments (5)

  • Clean - (65% x 1, 70% x 1, 75% x 1) x 3
  • Snatch balance - heavy single
With no rest:
Pull-ups - 10-8-6-4-2 reps
KB swing - 10-8-6-4-2 reps
Friday November 5 2010
Comments (4)

Rest
Saturday November 6 2010
Comments (6)

  • Snatch - heavy single
  • Clean & jerk - heavy single
  • Front squat - heavy single
  • Stiff-legged deadlift - 3 x 5
Sunday November 7 2010
Comments (0)

Rest
Monday November 8 2010
Comments (11)

  • Back squat - 86% x 2 x 10
  • Snatch pull - 100% (of snatch) x 3 x 2
  • Snatch deadlift - 110% (of snatch) x 3
Week 6 of 9
Tuesday November 9 2010
Comments (7)

  • Snatch - (70% x 1, 75% x 1, 80% x 1) x 3
  • Jerk - heavy single
  • Snatch push press - 3 x 4
3 sets; no rest:
15 GHB sit-ups
15 pull-ups
Wednesday November 10 2010
Comments (5)

  • Front squat - 84% x 2 x 10
  • Clean pull - 100% (of clean) x 3 x 2
  • Clean deadlift - 110% (of clean) x 3
Thursday November 11 2010
Comments (9)

  • Power clean - (70% x 1, 75% x 1, 80% x 1) x 3
  • Overhead squat - heavy single
3 sets; no rest:
10 1-arm KB swing
10 1-arm KB push press
Complete 10+10 each set before switching sides
Friday November 12 2010
Comments (3)

Rest
Saturday November 13 2010
Comments (7)

  • Snatch - 80-90% x 1
  • Clean & jerk - 90-90% x 1
  • Back squat - 80% x 1
  • SLDL - 3 x 5
Sunday November 14 2010
Comments (0)

Rest
Monday November 15 2010
Comments (6)

Back squat - 88% x 2 x 8
Snatch pull - 102% (of snatch) x 2 x 2
Snatch deadlift - 112% x 2

Week 7 of 9
Tuesday November 16 2010
Comments (3)

  • Power snatch - 60% x 1 x 5; 1 min rest
  • Jerk - heavy single
  • Snatch push press - 3 x 3
3 sets; no rest:
350 m row
10 sandbag push press
Wednesday November 17 2010
Comments (4)

  • Front squat - 86% x 2 x 6
  • Clean pull - 102% (of clean) x 2
  • Clean deadlift - 112% (of clean) x 2
Thursday November 18 2010
Comments (8)

  • Clean - 60% x 1 x 5; 1 min rest
  • Snatch balance - heavy single
3 sets; no rest:
10 KB swing
5 box jumps; mid-thigh+
10 sandbag bent row
Friday November 19 2010
Comments (1)

Rest
Saturday November 20 2010
Comments (4)

  • Front squat - max
  • Snatch - 70% x 1 x 5
  • Clean & jerk - 70% x 1 x 5
  • Stiff-legged deadlift - 3 x 5
Sunday November 21 2010
Comments (0)

Rest
Monday November 22 2010
Comments (4)

  • Back squat - 90% x 2 x 4
  • Snatch pull - 104% (of snatch) x 2 x 2
  • Snatch deadlift - 114% (of snatch) x 2
Week 8 of 9
Tuesday November 23 2010
Comments (5)

  • Snatch - 60% x 1 x 5; 1 min rest
  • Jerk - heavy single
  • Snatch push press - heavy single
3 sets; no rest:
10 sandbag halfmoons/side
10 pull-ups
Wednesday November 24 2010
Comments (2)

  • Front squat - 88% x 2 x 3
  • Clean pull - 104% (of clean) x 2 x 2
  • Clean deadlift - 114% (of clean) x 2
Thursday November 25 2010
Comments (1)

  • Power clean - (70% x 1, 75% x 1, 80% x 1) x 3
  • Overhead squat - heavy single
30 sec each exercise; 3 sets:
Push ball (light and fast)
KB swing
DB hang high-pull
Friday November 26 2010
Comments (2)

Rest
Saturday November 27 2010
Comments (3)

  • Snatch - 80% x 1 x 3
  • Clean & jerk - 80% x 1 x 3
  • Back squat - 80% x 1
  • Stiff-legged deadlift - 3 x 5
Sunday November 28 2010
Comments (0)

Rest
Monday November 29 2010
Comments (1)

  • Power snatch - 60% x 1 x 5
  • Back squat - 93% x 1
  • Snatch pull - 80% x 2 x 3
Week 9 of 9
Tuesday November 30 2010
Comments (6)

  • Snatch - (70% x 1, 75% x 1, 80% x 1) x 3
  • Jerk - heavy single
  • Snatch push press - 3 x 3
Wednesday December 1 2010
Comments (3)

  • Front squat - 80% x 1
  • Clean pull - 80% x 2 x 3
Thursday December 2 2010
Comments (6)

  • Power clean - (70% x 1, 75% x 1, 80% x 1) x 3
  • Snatch balance - heavy single
Friday December 3 2010
Comments (2)

Rest
Saturday December 4 2010
Comments (2)

  • Back squat - max
  • Deadlift - max
Don't expect big numbers in the deadlift today - you should be tired after the squats.
Sunday December 5 2010
Comments (0)

Rest
Get Our Newsletter

Sign up for our free newsletter to get training tips and stay up to date on Catalyst Athletics AND get a free issue of the Performance Menu journal.


Search Workouts

Workouts Menu

Training Home
Program Help
Tomorrow's Workout
Exercise Demos
Training Cycles
Text Only
Starter Program
Training Cycles

View Training by Date

Get Our Newsletter





Funny Crossfit Shirts
The largest variety of funny crossfit shirts for guys and girls.

Advertise With Us
Subscribe to the Performance Menu Magazine
Subscribe to our Newsletter

Get training tips and Catalyst news AND get a free issue of the Performance Menu journal.

ASK GREG

Submit your question to be answered by Greg Everett in the Performance Menu or on the website

Submit Your Question
WEIGHTLIFTING TEAM

Catalyst Athletics is a USA Weightlifting team of competitive Olympic-style weightlifters with multiple national team medals.

Read More
Olympic Weightlifting For Sports Book
Catalyst Athletics
Contact Us
About
Help
Newsletter
Products & Services
Gym
Store
Seminars
Weightlifting Team
Performance Menu
Magazine Home
Subscriber Login
Issues
Articles
Workouts
About the Program
Workout Archives
Exercise Demos
Text Only
Instructional Content
Exercise Demos
Video Gallery
Free Articles
Free Recipes
Resources
Recommended Books & DVDs
Olympic Weightlifting Guide
Discussion Forum
Weight Conversion Calculator