Home   |   Contact   |   Help   |   Mobile
olympic weightlifting, weightlifting, snatch, clean, jerk
CATALYST ATHLETICS TRAINING CYCLE

Program Help | Exercise Demos | Programs


2-Phase Cycle
10 weeks

10 week cycle starting with more strength emphasis and moving into more classic lift emphasis

Export Cycle as Word Doc




Monday April 13 2009
Comments (12)

  • Snatch - 70% x 2 x 3
  • Snatch pull - 90% (of snatch) x 3 x 3
  • Snatch deadlift - 90% (of snatch) x 3 x 3
  • Front squat - 75% x 3 x 5
  • Weighted GHD sit-ups - 3 x 8
Tuesday April 14 2009
Comments (13)

  • Muscle snatch + 2 snatch balance - take to heaviest MS possible
  • Overhead squat - 80% x 1; 65% x 2 x 2
  • Power clean + push jerk - 80% (of PC) x 1 x 4
3 rounds for time of:
10 sandbag Turkish get-ups (bag on shoulder) - 30% BW
20 kipping pull-ups
Wednesday April 15 2009
Comments (13)

  • Clean & jerk - 70% x 2 x 3
  • Clean pull - 90% (of clean) x 3 x 3
  • Clean deadlift - 100% (of clean) x 3 x 3
  • Back squat - 75% x 3 x 5
  • Hanging leg raise - 3 x 10
  • KB sidebend - 3 x 10
Thursday April 16 2009
Comments (8)

  • Jerk - heavy single; 80% of that x 1 x 3
  • 2-position snatch (floor, mid-thigh) - 60% x 3 sets
  • 2-position clean (floor, mid-thigh) - 60% x 3 sets
4 rounds for time of:
300 m row
5 push press - 75%
Friday April 17 2009
Comments (1)

Rest
Saturday April 18 2009
Comments (5)

  • Snatch - heavy single
  • Clean & jerk - heavy single
  • Front squat - heavy single

25-20-15-10 reps for time:
Kipping pull-ups
Knees to elbows
Sunday April 19 2009
Comments (0)

Rest
Monday April 20 2009
Comments (8)

  • Snatch - 75% x 1 x 4
  • Snatch pull - 95% x 3 x 3
  • Snatch deadlift - 103% x 3 x 3
  • Front squat - 78% x 3 x 5
  • Windmill - 3 x 5/side

Week 2
Tuesday April 21 2009
Comments (10)

  • Overhead squat - heavy single
  • Muscle snatch - heavy single
  • Power snatch - 80% x 1 x 4
3 rounds for time of:
100 m sprint
10 broad jumps
20 kipping pull-ups
Wednesday April 22 2009
Comments (12)

  • Clean & jerk - 75% x 1 x 4
  • Clean pull - 95% (of clean) x 3 x 3
  • Clean deadlift - 103% (of clean) x 3 x 3
  • Back squat - 78% x 3 x 5
  • Hanging leg raise - 3 x 15
Thursday April 23 2009
Comments (4)

  • Hang muscle snatch - 75% x 3 x 3
  • Snatch - 60% x 3 x 3
  • Clean & jerk - 60% x 2 x 3
3 rounds for time:
10 sandbag Zercher cleans - 50% BW
50 m farmers walk - 40% BW/side
10 Turkish get-ups - 25% BW sandbag on shoulder
Friday April 24 2009
Comments (5)

Rest
Saturday April 25 2009
Comments (11)

  • Snatch - heavy single
  • Clean & jerk - heavy single
  • Back squat - heavy single
  • Stiff-legged deadlift - 3 x 5 heavy
3 rounds for time:
10 burpees
10 kipping pull-ups
Sunday April 26 2009
Comments (0)

Rest
Monday April 27 2009
Comments (8)

  • Clean & jerk - 75% x 1 x 3
  • Snatch pull - 97% x 3 x 3
  • Snatch deadlift - 105% x 3 x 3
  • Front squat - 81% x 3 x 5
  • Stiff-legged DL - 3 x 5

Week 3
Tuesday April 28 2009
Comments (13)

  • Muscle snatch - heavy single
  • Snatch balance - heavy single

3 rounds for time of:
8 DB push press - 30% BW each
12 kipping pull-ups
16 KB swings - 40% BW
Wednesday April 29 2009
Comments (10)

  • Back squat - 81% x 3 x 5
  • Power snatch + snatch - 50% x 2 sets; 55% x 2 sets; 60% x 3 sets
  • Clean pull - 97% x 3 x 3
  • Clean deadlift - 105% x 3 x 3
  • Weighted GHD sit-ups - 3 x 10
Thursday April 30 2009
Comments (22)

  • Jerk - 80% x 2 x 2; 85% x 2 x 2
  • Jerk dip squat - 90% (of jerk) x 3; 95% x 3; 100% x 3
  • Snatch push press - 70% (of snatch) x 5; 75% x 5; 80% x 5 x 2

7 rounds for time:
5 kipping pull-ups
5 box jumps
Friday May 1 2009
Comments (2)

Rest

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO JOSH EVERETT!!!
Saturday May 2 2009
Comments (5)

  • Snatch - heavy single
  • Clean & jerk - heavy single
  • Back squat - heavy single

40-30-20 reps for time of:
Push ball
Jumping ring pull-ups
Sit-ups
Sunday May 3 2009
Comments (1)

Rest
Monday May 4 2009
Comments (10)

  • Snatch - 75% x 1 x 3
  • Clean & jerk - 70% x 1 x 3
  • Snatch pull of 3" riser - 90% (of snatch) x 3 x 3
  • Front squat - 84% x 2 x 4
  • Stiff-legged deadlift - 3 x 5 (add weight from last Mon)
  • Hanging leg raise - 3 x 15

Week 4
Tuesday May 5 2009
Comments (3)

  • Mid-hang muscle snatch - 75% x 3 x 3
  • Snatch balance + 2 overhead squats - 75% (of snatch) x 3 sets
For time:
500 m row
5 (1 Sandbag shoulder + 2 walking lunges)
2 rope climbs
10 sandbag power cleans
2 rope climbs
500 m row
Wednesday May 6 2009
Comments (3)

  • Power snatch - 75% x 1 x 3
  • Power clean & push jerk - 75% x 1 x 3
  • Clean pull off 3" riser - 90% (of clean) x 3 x 3
  • Back squat - 84% x 2 x 3 - follow each set immediately with 3 box jumps
  • Turkish get-up sit-up - 3 x 5/side
Thursday May 7 2009
Comments (10)

  • Jerk - 75% x 3 x 3
  • Push press - 82% x 4 x 4
  • Jumping squat - 90% (of back squat) x 3; 95% x 3; 100% x 3
5 rounds for time:
5 KB swings - 40% BW
10 sit-ups
50 m sprint
30 sec rest
Friday May 8 2009
Comments (8)

Rest
Saturday May 9 2009
Comments (2)

  • Snatch - heavy single
  • Clean & jerk - heavy single
  • Front squat - heavy single
If your heavy single for your snatch or CJ is 85% or less of your best, drop to 90% of that single for 1, then 80% for 3 more singles.

3 rounds for time:
"Max" kipping pull-ups (as many as you can perform uninterrupted)
10 box jumps - mid-thigh +
Sunday May 10 2009
Comments (2)

Rest
Monday May 11 2009
Comments (8)

  • Snatch - 80% x 1 x 3
  • Clean & jerk - 70% x 1 x 3
  • Snatch pull - 100% (of snatch) x 2 x 3
  • Front squat - 87% x 1 x 5
  • Weighted GHD sit-ups - 3 x 10

Week 5
Tuesday May 12 2009
Comments (10)

  • Jerk - heavy single; 90% x 1; 80% x 1 x 2
  • Push press - 84% x 3 x 3
  • Muscle snatch - heavy single

3 rounds for time of:
20 kipping pull-ups
10 overhead sandbag throws


Sandbag throws: Start with a heavy sandbag on the ground between your feet. Lift and swing as if performing a KB swing, but throw the back behind yourself at the top of the swing.
Wednesday May 13 2009
Comments (6)

  • Clean & jerk - 80% x 1 x 3
  • Snatch - 70% x 1 x 3
  • Clean deadlift - 109% (of clean) x 2 x 3
  • Back squat - 87% x 1 x 5; follow each set with 3 box jumps
  • Knees to elbows - 3 x 15
  • KB sidebend - 3 x 10/side
Thursday May 14 2009
Comments (2)

  • Snatch balance - heavy single
  • Jerk - 70% x 3 x 3
  • Muscle snatch - 75% x 2 x 3
  • Mid-hang snatch - 60% x 3 x 2; 65% x 2 x 2

3 rounds for time of:
300 m row
10 Turkish get-ups (5/side) - 30% BW
Friday May 15 2009
Comments (4)

Rest
Saturday May 16 2009
Comments (5)

  • Snatch - heavy single
  • Clean & jerk - heavy single
  • Front squat - heavy single
5 rounds for time of:
50 m sprint
8 kipping pull-ups
Sunday May 17 2009
Comments (0)

Rest
Monday May 18 2009
Comments (3)

  • Snatch - 70% x 1 x 3
  • Clean & jerk - 70% x 1 x 3
  • Back squat - 80% x 2 x 2
  • Turkish get-up - 3 x 5/side

Week 6
Tuesday May 19 2009
Comments (5)

  • Power snatch - heavy single
  • Power clean & jerk - heavy single; if jerk fails first, keep going up to a heavy single power clean
4 rounds for time:
5 box jumps
10 kipping pull-ups
30 sec rest
Wednesday May 20 2009
Comments (2)

  • Snatch - 65% x 2 x 4
  • Clean & jerk - 65% x 2 x 3
  • Snatch push press + overhead squat - 65% (of snatch) x 3 + 3 x 4
  • Ab wheel - 3 x 15
Thursday May 21 2009
Comments (2)

  • Snatch - 70% x 1 x 3
  • Clean & jerk - 70% x 1 x 3
3 rounds for time:
8 Sandbag power clean & push press - 40% BW
100 m sprint
Friday May 22 2009
Comments (9)

Rest
Saturday May 23 2009
Comments (7)

  • Snatch - heavy single
  • Clean & jerk - heavy single
  • Front squat - heavy single
  • Pull-ups - 3 x max OR rope climb - 5 total
Sunday May 24 2009
Comments (2)

Rest
Monday May 25 2009
Comments (5)

  • Snatch - heavy single; 85% of that x 1 x 5
  • Clean & jerk - heavy single; 85% of that x 1 x 4
  • Front squat - clean heavy single wt x 2 x 3
  • Plate twists - 3 x 30
  • Ab roll-outs - 3 x 15

Week 7
Tuesday May 26 2009
Comments (6)

  • Power snatch - 75% x 1 x 5
  • Power clean & jerk - 75% x 1 x 5

3 rounds for time:
10 (2 walking lunge + 1 broad jump)
15 kipping pull-ups
Wednesday May 27 2009
Comments (6)

  • Snatch - heavy single; 90% of that x 1 x 4
  • Clean & jerk - heavy single; 90% of that x 1 x 3
  • Back squat - clean single wt x 3 x 3
  • GHD sit-ups - 3 x 15 (weight if needed)
Thursday May 28 2009
Comments (3)

  • Muscle snatch - 80% x 1 x 3
  • Snatch - 75% of Wed heavy single x 1 x 5
  • Clean & jerk - 75% of Wed heavy single x 1 x 4

For time:
50 m sprint
15 kipping pull-ups
30 sec rest
100 m sprint
10 kipping pull-ups
30 sec rest
200 m sprint
5 kipping pull-ups
30 sec rest
50 m sprint
10 kipping pull-ups
Friday May 29 2009
Comments (5)

Rest
Saturday May 30 2009
Comments (1)

  • Snatch - heavy single; 85% of that x 1 x 4
  • Clean & jerk - heavy single; 85% of that x 1 x 3
  • Front squat - heavy single

3 rounds for time:
300 m row
7 burpees
Sunday May 31 2009
Comments (0)

Rest
Monday June 1 2009
Comments (5)

  • Snatch - heavy single; 90% of that x 1 x 4
  • Clean & jerk - heavy single; 90% of that x 1 x 3
  • Back squat - today's clean max x 3 x 3
  • Weighted GHD sit-ups - 3 x 15

Week 8
Tuesday June 2 2009
Comments (0)

  • Power snatch - 75% of Monday's snatch x 1 x 5
  • Power clean & jerk - 75% of Monday's clean & jerk x 1 x 5

3 rounds for time:
15 KB swing - 40% BW
15 DB push press - 25% BW each
Wednesday June 3 2009
Comments (8)

  • Snatch - heavy single; 85% of that x 1 x 4
  • Clean & jerk - heavy single; 85% of that x 1 x 4
  • Front squat - heaviest clean weight x 2 x 3
  • Knees to elbows - 3 x 15
  • KB sidebends - 3 x 10
Thursday June 4 2009
Comments (1)

  • Snatch - 75% of Wed. snatch x 1 x 5
  • Clean & jerk - 75% of Wed. CJ x 1 x 5
3 rounds for time:
10 clapping pull-ups
10 clapping push-ups
Friday June 5 2009
Comments (2)

Rest
Saturday June 6 2009
Comments (3)

  • Snatch - heavy single; 90% of that x 1 x 4
  • Clean & jerk - heavy single; 90% of that x 1 x 3
  • Back squat - heavy single clean weight x 3 x 3
6 intervals of:
100 m row sprint
200 m row cruise
  • Ab work of choice
Sunday June 7 2009
Comments (3)

Rest
Monday June 8 2009
Comments (1)

  • Snatch - heavy single; 90% of that x 1 x 3
  • Clean & jerk - heavy single; 90% of that x 1 x 3
  • Front squat - clean single wt x 2 x 2
  • Ab wheel - 3 x 15
Week 9
Tuesday June 9 2009
Comments (1)

  • Power snatch - 75% of Mon snatch (no more than 80% of best pwr sn) x 1 x 5
  • Power clean & jerk - 75% of Mon CJ (no more than 80% of best pwr CJ) x 1 x 5

3 rounds for time:
15 kipping pull-ups
7 box jumps - mid-thigh+
Wednesday June 10 2009
Comments (4)

  • Snatch - heavy single; 85% of that x 1 x 3
  • Clean & jerk - heavy single; 85% of that x 1 x 3
  • Back squat - clean single wt x 2 x 2
  • Hanging leg raise - 3 x 15
Thursday June 11 2009
Comments (1)

  • Snatch balance - 65% (of snatch) x 3 x 3
  • Mid-hang snatch - 60% x 2 x 3
  • Mid-hang clean & power jerk - 60% (of clean) x 2 x 3

3 rounds for time:
20 push ball - 15% BW
20 KB snatch (10/arm) - 25% BW
Friday June 12 2009
Comments (2)

Rest
Saturday June 13 2009
Comments (2)

  • Snatch - heavy single; 90% of that x 1 x 3
  • Clean & jerk - heavy single; 90% of that x 1 x 3
  • Front squat - clean single wt x 2 x 2
  • Weighted ab-mat sit-up - 3 x 10
Sunday June 14 2009
Comments (3)

Rest
Monday June 15 2009
Comments (4)

  • Snatch - 80% of last week's best x 1 x 6
  • Clean & jerk - 80% of last week's best x 1 x 5
  • Front squat - 80% x 1 x 3
  • Ab wheel - 3 x 15
Tuesday June 16 2009
Comments (9)

  • Power snatch - 80% of Mon x 1 x 6
  • Power clean & jerk - 80% of Mon x 1 x 4
3 rounds for time:
8 sandbag power clean & push press - 50% BW
100 m sprint
Wednesday June 17 2009
Comments (0)

  • Snatch - same as Monday
  • Clean & jerk - same as Monday
  • Back squat - 80% x 1 x 3
  • Weighted GHD sit-ups - 3 x 10
Thursday June 18 2009
Comments (6)

  • Power snatch - same as Tuesday
  • Power clean & jerk - same as Tuesday

3 rounds for time:
300 m row
5 box jumps - mid-thigh+
15 kipping pull-ups
Friday June 19 2009
Comments (0)

Rest
Saturday June 20 2009
Comments (5)

  • Snatch - 80% of last week's best x 1 x 6
  • Clean & jerk - 80% of last week's best x 1 x 5
  • Front squat - heavy single
3 rounds for time:
200 m sprint
20 kipping pull-ups
Sunday June 21 2009
Comments (0)

Rest
Get Our Newsletter

Sign up for our free newsletter to get training tips and stay up to date on Catalyst Athletics AND get a free issue of the Performance Menu journal.


Search Workouts

Workouts Menu

Training Home
Program Help
Tomorrow's Workout
Exercise Demos
Training Cycles
Text Only
Starter Program
Training Cycles

View Training by Date

Get Our Newsletter



Funny Crossfit Shirts
The largest variety of funny crossfit shirts for guys and girls.

Advertise With Us
Subscribe to the Performance Menu Magazine
Subscribe to our Newsletter

Get training tips and Catalyst news AND get a free issue of the Performance Menu journal.

ASK GREG

Submit your question to be answered by Greg Everett in the Performance Menu or on the website

Submit Your Question
WEIGHTLIFTING TEAM

Catalyst Athletics is a USA Weightlifting team of competitive Olympic-style weightlifters with multiple national team medals.

Read More
Olympic Weightlifting For Sports Book
Catalyst Athletics
Contact Us
About
Help
Newsletter
Products & Services
Gym
Store
Seminars
Weightlifting Team
Performance Menu
Magazine Home
Subscriber Login
Issues
Articles
Workouts
About the Program
Workout Archives
Exercise Demos
Text Only
Instructional Content
Exercise Demos
Video Gallery
Free Articles
Free Recipes
Resources
Recommended Books & DVDs
Olympic Weightlifting Guide
Discussion Forum
Weight Conversion Calculator